©2019 by Badi Foundation. 

發展歷程

巴迪基金會於1990年通過為紀念巴迪歐拉·法裡德先生(Badi'u'llah Farid)和西德羅·埃米加·巴加女士(Shidrokh Amirkia Bagha)的初始贈款在澳門成立,這兩位是為人類福祉做出無私奉獻與服務乃至自我犧牲的傑出典範。基金會的根本目的一直是為中國的物質與精神平衡發展做出貢獻,無論它何其微薄。在巴哈伊信仰的啟發下,基金會由一系列的原則和信念的指引著,包括每個人內在潛藏著的高貴性、人類一體性、公正的重要性、科學與精神信仰的和諧、男女平等和普及教育的需要。

澳門項目的發展初期

基金會在正規教育領域的第一個嘗試是在澳門發展了聯國學校。學校成立於1988年,基金會成立後學校開始轉移到基金會屬下,並由基金會負責學校行政管理和發展的各個方面。在澳門民眾和政府的支持下,初期聯國學校從一個小規模發展起來。經過一段時間的發展,學校逐漸擴大規模,並設計出了一套獨具特色的正規教育的方法,專注於促進學生的德、智、體全面發展。2008年,在澳門政府、家長、校友及其他人士的慷慨支持下,學校完成了新校區的建設,使其進一步擴展,增強繼續為澳門社區服務的能力。學校目前從幼兒園到高中共有600多名學生,並因其學術嚴謹性和促進學生道德與智力的全面發展的方法而成為一所受到高度認可的教育機構。

在中國大陸的發展初期

在發展聯國學校的同時,基金會還同時在中國大陸開展了各種正規和非正規教育活動。最初的項目借鑒了基金會在聯國學校的經驗,以正規教育和教師培訓為核心。基金會在中國大陸的早期項目包括:與中央教育科學研究所聯合就與品格發展相關的課題展開了探索,並為中國各地的學校和教育部門提供教師和教師培訓。基金會在非正規教育領域的第一個項目系由基金會與科學技術委員會在海南島聯合當地農民和青年合作開展。

 

基於這些初步努力所獲得的經驗,可利用的機會以及對中國農村大眾所潛藏的獨特能力的信念,巴迪基金會於1994年啟動了社會發展項目。這項非正規教育項目旨在培養其參與者——其中大部分來自中國農村地區——促進當地社區發展所需要的知識,技能,習慣和態度。隨著該項目的發展,該項目與國務院扶貧辦,中國婦女聯合會和其他政府機構合作。根據實踐經驗,基金會決定將社會發展項目的重點放在為推動生活在農村和城郊的婦女的可持續發展的科學原則與概念的教育上,成為了環境建設項目。

 

機構能力建設

 

在1997年巴迪基金會北京代表處成立之後的幾年裡,我們北京辦公室的成員到不同的社區開展為釋放農村婦女的潛能的培訓和教育活動。基於參與者對這些項目的積極回應及意識到發展社區組織的機構能力以更好地促進和協調他們的工作,並把他們的學習和經驗系統化的必要性,2005年,基金會決定開展機構能力建設項目,以促進基層社區社會發展組織在中國農村地區的成立,並提供支援和培訓,發展這些組織的能力以滿足社區發展的需求。

社區社會發展組織有一些開展上面提到的環境建設項目,另外的開展為引導12至15歲的青少年獲得為推動社區所必要的道德概念、習慣及態度的道德賦能項目。通過機構能力建設項目,巴迪基金會與感興趣的個人合作,在中國農村與城郊建立了四十多個社會社區發展組織。除了支持社區社會發展組織在中國大陸實施道德賦能項目外,2007年,基金會也開始直接與澳門特別行政區的當地學校和教育機構合作實施該項目。

 

在國內的成果與學習經驗

在過去幾年裡,這些組織付出了全心的努力來發展他們的基層社區以賦能于一些特殊人群,包括青少年及婦女。這些社區發展機構的成果和學習經驗包括:

  • 接觸超過56,000多名農村婦女和青少年

  • 通過學習相關的教育材料加強了婦女和青少年對道德、精神和科學概念的理解

  • 提高在基層社區開展服務的能力,包括文化表演、村莊與社區清潔、提高對公共健康、環境問題的意識、以及小型經濟項目等活動

  • 識別、調配和發展基層人力資源的能力來成為協助者去服務社區

  • 發展基層組織的機構能力,包括發展和管理人力資源和財務資源、戰略性計劃、項目執行與評估

  • 接觸和發展與廣泛社會的關係,包括政府和社區組織

  • 加強資金發展和管理的能力

這些社區社會組織產生的知識不僅推動了自己社區的發展,還對更大範圍的有關賦能及建設個人與機構的能力方面的知識做出了貢獻,包括:

  • 識別、培訓及支援個人開展草根社會經濟發展項目的過程

  • 在基層社區建立教育項目的過程

  • 對基層人群賦能和能力建設開發和使用適合的教育材料

  • 發展對處在不同能力和負責程度的人力資源

  • 逐步獲得和加強機構能力以及機構的有機發展

  • 建立和維持與政府和廣泛社會的關係的過程

  • 建立一個支援社區社會組織的系統,包括一對一的支援及反思和交流經驗的空間

  • 建立和加強提供種子資金給社區社會機構的系統

  • 從基層收集資訊與經驗,分析、記錄並分享給草根合作者及廣泛社會的過程

除了在基層開展項目外,巴迪基金會還與不同的政府組織和民間組織建立合作關係,主要為分享和交流從基層發展工作中得到的洞見創造空間。這些組織包括國務院扶貧辦、中國國際民間組織合作促進會、中華慈善會及清華大學NGO研究所。我們對這些基層和國家級合作夥伴的協作和支持表示深切的感激。

新的篇章

2017年1月,一個管理境外非政府組織在中國大陸活動的律法開始生效。巴迪基金會,作為一個境外非政府組織,需要在新律法下重新註冊其北京代表處。這個變化給巴迪基金會創造了一個根據二十年的經驗和合作中的社區社會組織的情況,重新審視在中國大陸的發展策略的機會。在進行了深入反思和磋商後,我們決定不再在新律法下尋求註冊。與基金會一貫重視基層的能力建設一致,這個決定的主要原因是基層機構和個人已經發展了巨大的能力來為他們在中國的社區發展負起責任。基金會意識到這些的能力的存在,並對基層社區勤奮工作那麼多年的夥伴所擁有的主動性及智慧充滿信心。使現在成為了將中國大陸開展的活動轉化成一種新的運作和協調模式的適宜時間。

2018年,基金會結束了北京代表處的運作,而在社區社會組織之間相互學習和支持的資源、結構和系統已經大量轉移到區域層面。很多已經存在的項目和活動將會繼續,並希望可以不斷擴展,日益增強其力量。目前,基金會將集中其資源和項目在澳門特別行政區——包括聯國學校及澳門道德賦能項目,以及在教師培訓及課程編寫等方面的工作。

©2019 by Badi Foundation. 

HISTORY

                The Badi Foundation was established in 1990 in Macao through an initial endowment in honor of Badi'u'llah Farid and Shidrokh Amirkia Bagha, who were outstanding examples of dedication, service and self-sacrifice for the well-being of humankind. The fundamental purpose animating the Badi Foundation has always been to contribute, however modestly, to the spiritual and material progress of China. Drawing inspiration from the teachings of the Baha’i Faith, the foundation is guided by principles and convictions including the oneness of humanity, the nobility and inherent potential of every human being, the importance of justice, the harmony of scientific and spiritual belief systems, the equality of women and men, and the need for universal education.

Emergence of Programs in Macao

               

                Initial endeavors began in the area of formal education with the development of the School of the Nations in Macao. Established in 1988, the school was transferred to the foundation upon its establishment and the foundation was given responsibility for all aspects of the school’s administration and development.  A result of the efforts of citizens of Macao as well as the Macao government, the School of the Nations began modestly.  Over the years it expanded in size and devised a unique approach to formal education, focusing on promoting the physical, intellectual, and moral development of its students in an integrated manner. In 2008, with the generous support of the Macao government, parents, alumni and other supporters, the school completed construction of a state of the art new campus, enabling its further expansion and strengthening its ability to serve the community of Macao. The school is currently serving over 600 students from kindergarten through high school in Macao and has become an educational institution highly regarded for its academic rigor and its integrated approach to the moral and intellectual development of its students.

Initial Efforts in Mainland China

 

                Concurrently with the early development of the School of the Nations, the Badi Foundation sought to contribute to formal and non-formal education in mainland China.  Seeking to draw on the experience being gaining at the school, initial projects in China focused on formal education and teacher training.  The foundation’s early projects in China included an exploration of issues related to character development in conjunction with the Central Institute for Educational Research and providing teachers and teacher training to schools and education departments throughout China.  In the arena of non-formal education, an early project was carried out in Hainan Island, where the foundation worked with farmers and youth in collaboration with the Science and Technology Commission.

                Based on the lessons learned through these initial efforts, the opportunities that were available and recognition of the unique capacities inherent in China’s rural populations, the Badi Foundation in 1994 initiated its Social Enterprise Program.  This non-formal educational program sought to cultivate in its participants, most of whom lived in China’s rural regions, the qualities, knowledge, skills, and attitudes necessary to contribute to the advancement of their communities. As the program developed, it was implemented in collaboration with the State Council Office of Poverty Alleviation, China Women’s Federation and other government agencies. Based on experience over time, it was decided to focus the Social Enterprise Program on education in scientific principles and concepts related to sustainable development for women living in rural and semi-rural areas.  This program came to be known as the Environmental Action Program.

 

Building Institutional Capacity

 

                Initially, staff of the foundation’s Beijing representative office, which was established in 1997, would travel to different communities to carry out Environmental Action Program trainings and follow up activities. Based on the enthusiastic response of local participants to these efforts as well as the recognition of the need for institutional structures at the local level to stimulate and channel efforts and systematize learning, the decision was taken in 2005 to initiate the Institutional Capacity Building Program, which facilitated the establishment of community-based organizations in China’s rural regions and provided training and support to build the capacity of these organizations to serve the needs of the community.

 

                Community-based organizations implemented either the Environmental Action Program, described above, or the Moral Empowerment through Language Program, whose aim is to guide youth between the ages of 12 and 15 to acquire moral concepts, habits and attitudes needed to contribute to the transformation of their communities. Through the Institutional Capacity Building Programme, the Badi Foundation collaborated with interested individuals to establish more than 40 community-based organizations in rural and suburban localities in China.  In addition to supporting community-based organizations to implement the Moral Empowerment through Language Program in mainland China, in 2007 the foundation also began implementing the program directly in collaboration with local schools and educational institutions in Macao.

 

Achievements and Learning in Mainland China

 

                Over the following decade, the community-based organizations made significant strides in their efforts to serve their local communities and to empower rural women and youth.  Among the achievements and learning of the community-based organizations are:

 

  • Reaching over 56,000 rural women and youth

  • Enhancing understanding of moral, spiritual, and scientific concepts in women and youth through study of relevant educational materials

  • Strengthening capacity of local populations to carry out service to their communities, including activities such as cultural performances, village and neighborhood clean-up, consciousness-raising about public health and environmental issues, and small economic projects

  • Identifying, deploying, and raising capacity in local human resources to serve as facilitators

  • Raising institutional capacity in local organizations, including strategic planning, project implementation and evaluation, and development and management of human and financial resources

  • Reaching out to and development contacts with the wider society, including local government and community organizations

  • Strengthening capacity for fund development and financial management

 

                The experience generated by the community-based organizations has not only advanced the well-being of their local communities, but also contributed to a wider body of insight and knowledge about the process of empowering and building capacity in individuals and institutions to advance their own development.  Some areas of learning have included:

 

  • the process by which individuals are identified, trained and supported to implement grassroots social and economic development programs

  • the process by which an educational program is established in a local community

  • the development and use of suitable educational materials for empowering and building capacity in local populations

  • the development of human resources at varying levels of capacity and responsibility

  • the gradual acquisition and strengthening of institutional capabilities and the organic growth of an agency over time

  • the process by which relationships with government and the wider society are formed and sustained

  • the development of a system of support for community-based organizations, including both one-on-one support and spaces for reflection and sharing of experience

  • the development and strengthening of a system for delivering seed funding to community-based agencies

  • the process by which insights at the grassroots are collected, analyzed, documented, and shared with grassroots collaborators as well as the wider society

 

                In addition to carrying out programs at the grassroots, the Badi Foundation also partnered with a variety of organizations in government and civil society in mainland China, with a focus on creating spaces for learning and exchange drawing on the insights emerging from grassroots development efforts.  These organizations included the State Council Leading Group on Poverty Alleviation and Development, the China Association for NGO Cooperation, the China Charity Federation and the Tsinghua University NGO Research Institute.  We are deeply grateful for the collaboration and support of these partners at the local and national levels.

 

                A New Chapter

 

                In January of 2017, a new law regulating overseas nongovernmental organizations in mainland China went into effect. The Badi Foundation, as an overseas NGO, was required to re-register its Beijing Representative Office under this law. This development provided an opportunity for the foundation to look afresh at its strategy in mainland China, in light of two decades of experience and the current situation of the collaborating community-based organizations.  After a period of intensive reflection and consultation, it was decided not to pursue registration under the law. In line with the foundation’s focus on capacity building at the grass roots, a primary reason for this decision was the great deal of capacity that has already been built in a significant number of individuals and local organizations to take charge of and advance the development of their communities in China. The Foundation’s recognition of this existing capacity, and its whole-hearted confidence in the initiative and resourcefulness of those who have been so diligently and effectively laboring at the grassroots for so many years, made this an opportune time for the activities being carried out in mainland China to transition to new modes of operation and coordination.

 

                During 2018 the foundation brought the operations of its Beijing Representative Office to a close, and structures and resources for supporting and systematizing learning among the community-based organizations were devolved to the regional level.   From 2018 onwards, the foundation has been concentrating its resources on its programs in the Macao Special Administrative Region—including the School of the Nations and the Moral Empowerment through Language Program—as well as new initiatives in the area of teacher training and curriculum development.