Environmental Action

In addition to the pivotal role they play in educating their children and managing their households, women living in China's rural regions comprise the major work force in agriculture and agricultural enterprises in rural areas of China.  In recent years in particular, as men have taken up jobs in urban factories and on construction crews, in many cases it is the women who are left to manage production systems and family businesses, and their decisions have significant impact on the well-being of their families, communities and the environment in which they live.  The Badi Foundation’s Environmental Action Program develops the vast potential of rural women through educational and training opportunities.

Fostering a Spirit of Initiative

Since 2000, the Badi Foundation and its collaborating community-based organizations have focused significant efforts on building the capacity of women living in China’s rural regions through the development and implementation of its Environmental Action Program.  The hallmark of the Environmental Action Program is its demonstrated ability to foster in rural women a spirit of initiative and a sense of ownership toward the development of their communities.  The Environmental Action Program, rather than providing mere technical support or goods and services to rural communities, strives through the use of educational curricula to nurture among its participants the qualities, knowledge, skills and attitudes needed to contribute to the betterment of their communities.

The Environmental Action Program seeks to nurture a recognition in rural women that they, too, can be valuable contributors to the betterment of their communities and provides rural populations with the decision-making and unity-building tools they need to work together to promote social harmony and community prosperity.  Moreover, the curriculum places an emphasis on scientific concepts and principles, such as the importance of ecological balance and sustainable agricultural production systems.  Participants develop the tools and understanding needed to adapt different technologies and approaches to the needs of the local environment or come up with new technologies to assist them in bringing about prosperity in their communities.

Positively Impacting Communities

Monitoring and evaluation efforts have demonstrated that Environmental Action Program participants begin to take a larger role in decision-making, both in their families and in the community – including helping to organize family members and neighbors to carry out actions for the benefit of the community as a whole.  They also have the confidence and understanding needed to access available technological resources and begin to use new and innovative methods in their own production systems.  Participants in the Environmental Action Program:

  • adopt innovative technologies and use more sustainable agricultural practices
  • decrease their use of pesticides and fertilizers
  • take measures to beautify and sanitize their physical surroundings
  • increase their participation in community and family decision-making
  • start small businesses and are more likely to take on loans to achieve their business aims
  • carry out useful projects, such as building a bridge to facilitate transportation in and out of the village or arranging for running water to be brought to the village
  • assist government-sponsored efforts to promote sustainable practices, such as by building greenhouses or biogas systems

To date, the Badi Foundation has directly worked with over 15625 rural women through the Environmental Action Program.  In 2007, the Foundation modified its approach to implementing the program by beginning to facilitate the establishment of locally founded and operated community-based organizations dedicated to implementing the Environmental Action Program in rural regions of China.  The Badi Foundation is currently collaborating with over 13 community-based organizations implementing the Environmental Action Program in Gansu, Hebei, Henan, Ningxia, Sha’anxi, Qinghai and Yunnan Provinces.  Together, these small agencies have completed Environmental Action Program trainings with a total of 5983 program participants.

Comments are closed.

农村妇女

在中国农村,除了担当教育子女和家庭管理的重要职责外,妇女还通常是农业劳动和农业企业的主力军。尤其是在近年来,大多数情况下,男人都在城市工厂和建筑工地上班,妇女被留在家乡管理生产和家庭事务。她们的决策对其所在的家庭、社区和环境的福祉具有重要影响。巴迪基金会的环境建设项目通过为农村妇女提供教育和培训机会来挖掘他们的巨大潜能。

培养创新精神

2000年以来,巴迪基金会及与其合作的民间组织一直将工作重点放在通过设计和实施环境建设项目帮助中国农村妇女开展能力建设上面。环境建设项目的最大特点,就是项目在培养农村妇女对社区发展的主动精神和主人翁态度方面的示范作用。环境建设项目并不只是为农村社区提供技术支持、物资和服务,而是努力通过教育课程提升参与者推动社区进步的能力、知识、技能和态度。

环境建设项目致力于帮助农村妇女认识到她们也能为改善自己的社区做出宝贵的贡献,并为农村居民提供开展相互协作,促进社会和谐和社区繁荣所需的决策和能力建设的工具。此外,这个课程还强调科学概念和原则,比如生态平衡和可持续发展的农业生产系统的重要性。参与者会发展出改进不同技术和方法,以满足本地社区环境所需的工具和认识,或是提出新的技术,协助他们为社区创造繁荣。

积极影响社区发展

监测和评估显示,环境建设项目的参与者已经开始在家庭和社区更多地承担决策职责——包括协助组织家庭成员和乡邻开展造福整个社区的行动。她们还拥有了获得技术资源所需的信心和认识,甚至开始在自己的生产体系中使用全新的和创新的方法。环境建设项目的参与者:

  • 采取创新技术,利用更加可持续发展的农业措施;
  • 减少使用农药和化肥;
  • 采取措施美化和净化物理环境;
  • 更多地参与社区和家庭决策;
  • 创立小企业,更愿意去争取贷款来协助实现自己的商业目标;
  • 开展有用的项目,比如修建桥梁,改善乡村的对内对外交通,或是为乡村引入自来水;
  • 协助政府资助活动,推广可持续发展措施,比如建设温室或沼气。

截至目前,巴迪基金会已经通过环境建设项目直接与15625多名农村妇女合作。2007年,基金会调整了方式,开始致力于在中国农村推动由当地人创办和专门实施实施环境建设项目的民间组织。基金会目前已经与13个民间组织合作,在甘肃、河北、河南、宁夏、陕西、青海和云南等省份实施环境建设项目。这些民间组织共计对近5983名参与者进行了环境建设项目培训。

Comments are closed.