Macau Moral Empowerment through Language Program

The Badi Foundation’s Macau Moral Empowerment through Language Program works in collaboration with schools, community groups and the Macau Education and Youth Affairs Bureau to assist young people between the ages of 12 and 15 to develop their powers of expression while also helping them to develop a sound moral framework that will guide them throughout their lives and enable them to contribute to the upliftment and well-being of their communities.

The program uses an internationally developed curriculum consisting of moral stories and lessons, quotations, art activities, drama, cooperative games, and service within a participatory, group learning classroom environment of encouragement and mutual respect to achieve its empowerment aims.

The Badi Foundation’s Moral Empowerment through Language Program started in 2007 and through the end of 2015, over 3,700 junior youth in Macau have participated in the program.  Currently, we are collaborating with the following schools to implement the program:

  • Macau Pooi To Middle School
  • Fong Chong School of Taipa
  • Pui Va Middle School
  • Xin Hua School ( Secondary Section)
  • Choi Nong Chi Tai School
  • School of the Nations

Participants in the program have visited animal shelters, visited the elderly, taught classes for children, cleaned beaches, and participated in community events. We have seen participants gain confidence and skill in the English language, place increasing value on practicing moral character in their daily lives, and design and complete social service projects.Macau Education and Youth Affairs Bureau

“…in the Moral Empowerment through Language Program we can learn not only how to be good, but also have a chance to do service for the community. Before I used to wish I could do service but I didn’t have the courage to do it. Now, I’ve done something, although I can’t say it is a big thing. Working with the participants in this program has given me a lot of satisfaction.”  –From a Participant in the Macau Moral Empowerment through Language Program

For more information about the program, please contact Macau Program Officer Ms. Candy Fok at candy@badi-foundation.org or +853 2884 1257.


Moral Empowerment Through Language Program Volunteers– Animators

Badi Foundation also welcomes youths to participate in the program as volunteers (animators), using their own experience and abilities to assist the junior youths to understand the moral concepts in the books and know themselves better.

Details

  • service hours︰2 classes per week (excluding the school holidays), attend the regular reflection meetings and trainings.
  • Location: the classes in the collaborating schools.
  • assisting the teacher to give lessons, helping the junior youths to understand the moral concepts, encouraging the junior youths to learn, accompanying them to do service projects and building relationship with them.  

Youths becoming animators can develop the following abilities and understanding:

  • enhance the expression
  • the understanding of moral concepts
  • the abilities to serve the community
  • ability to resist the influence of negative forces
  • to keep positive
  • to build friendship

The feelings of youth animators

“Volunteering for METL classes gained myself a lot of experience in working with students and communicating with them through exercises and games. It has been an unforgettable 6 months and I would never forget how warm hearted it felt like to work with those hard working and optimistic students. Students were always cheerful and happy to see volunteers and teachers from the METL program, which even more encourages us and makes us look forward in seeing them in class. “-an animator from IFT.

“To reflect, it is definitely one of my most meaningful and memorable experiences so far in my life, as it has had significant impacts on students which could help them explore more on the meaning of service to both the community and the world. Service seems to be like a trivial thing, however, all of our little efforts could definitely change the world which could mean a lot to others who are in need.” –an animator from UMAC

Registration and inquiries

Please complete the form below and we will contact you as soon as possible. 

https://goo.gl/forms/gg0baqka0NRNROWa2

Phone inquiries: (853) 6381 9322 Minnie


Acknowledgements:

 

We are grateful to the Fu Tak Iam Foundation Limited for their sponsorship of the Moral Empowerment through Language Program.

logo

 

2016 Caring Youth Growing Subsidy Program

 

Comments are closed.

道德賦能項目

澳門正處於急速變化的社會階段中,很多方面都會影響青少年。巴迪基金會道德賦能項目是特別為青少年而設計的三年教育項目,它協助12-15歲的青少年對自身的潛能有深厚的認識、提升他們語言表達能力的同時也引導他們為社區的發展作出貢獻。

本項目在一個鼓勵參與和相互尊重的小組學習氛圍中進行,採用一系列以「青年服務於自身社區」的故事教材,通過互相討論、藝術活動、團隊合作遊戲,從而達到賦能的目標。

自2007年至2016年底,累計已有超過3,700名學生參與過道德賦能項目。我們現時與以下學校合作開展本項目:

  • 澳門培道中學
  • 氹仔坊眾學校
  • 培華中學
  • 新華學校
  • 菜農子弟學校
  • 聯國學校

參加者通過課堂上對道德概念話題的探討,和進行由小組磋商協調完成的服務活動,我們看到他們在表達方面展現了更大的自信,更加注重在日常生活中展現他們的道德情操,為他人著想和參與社區服務。

參與道德賦能項目的學生心聲︰

「道德賦能項目不但教我們如何做好,而且還讓我有機會服務社區。平時也想嘗試去做這些事,可是沒有這個勇氣。與一起參加了這項計畫的同學一起去服務,讓我雖然不是做很大的事,但也令我很有滿足感。」

如想獲得更多有關此項目的資訊,請致電 +853 2884 1257或電郵至candy@badi-foundation.org聯絡我們。


   道德賦能項目志願者―—激勵者    

巴迪基金會亦誠邀青年成為本項目的志願者(激勵者),協助青少年更好地認識自己和理解書中講述的道德概念,運用自身經驗和能力去服務社區。

詳情:

服務時間︰每星期2節課(學校假期除外)、定期出席反思會及培訓。

服務對像︰本澳初一至初三青少年

服務地點︰六所合作中學的初中班級

服務內容︰協助導師完成課堂、協助青少年加深對道德概念的認識、鼓勵青少年學習、陪伴他們進行社區服務活動、與青少年建立友誼關係。

青年成為激勵者可與青少年一起發展︰

  • 表達能力
  • 對道德概念的理解
  • 服務社區的能力
  • 抵抗社會上負面力量的影響
  • 保持正面與積極的態度
  • 友誼關係

青年激勵者的心聲︰

「成為道德賦能課堂的志願者令我自己獲得了許多經驗,包括如何與學生合作,如何通過課堂練習和遊戲與他們溝通。 這6個月的服務真的很難忘,我永遠不會忘記與這些努力學習和樂觀的學生互動是如此的窩心。 學生看到來自道德賦能項目的志願者和老師時總是十分雀躍和高興,這些都很鼓勵我們,並使我們期待在課堂上看到他們。」–來自旅遊學院的激勵者

「這絕對是我一生中最有意義和難忘的經歷之一,因為它對學生有重大的影響,可以幫助他們更深入地探索服務對社會和世界的意義。 服務似乎是一個微不足道的事情,但是,對於有需要的人,我們所有的小努力都是重要的,而且肯定可以改變世界,」–來自澳門大學的激勵者

   報名及查詢方法︰ 

報名請填妥以下表格,我們會有專人回覆你︰

https://goo.gl/forms/gg0baqka0NRNROWa2

電話查詢︰63819322 冼小姐(Minnie)


鳴謝:

本會非常感謝傅德蔭基金有限公司對道德賦能項目的贊助。

logo

2016年「關懷青少年成長資助計劃」

 

 

Comments are closed.