Badi Foundation Holds Training for Potential Initiators of Community-Based Organizations Implementing Moral Empowerment Through Language Program

April 3rd to 7th, 2017, potential initiators of Community-Based Organizations (CBOs) from Guangxi, Yunnan, Xinjiang and Shaanxi Province gathered with Badi Foundation staff in Beijing to learn how to promote the balanced development of material and spiritual aspects of society through a process of participatory study. These eight potential initiators were identified after several months of wider sharing and continuous dialogue. They all have a strong desire to serve and contribute to the balanced development of their own communities. In the coming three months, Badi Foundation will further identify from these individuals the final initiators, and support them to set up their own CBO to implement Moral Empowerment Through Language (METL) Program in their communities.

实习培训照片

During these five days, participants started by studying the evolution of developmental thoughts from the Second World War onwards, and discussed practices and experiences gained in the field. Many concepts were covered and further investigated, such as participation of the local population, community based organizations, local facilitators. Under this context, the METL program was introduced. The program targets at junior youths aged 12-15, with the purpose of helping them to realize their twofold moral purpose-development of one’s self and of one’s community, through learning and service. After introducing the program and its elements, initiators from Badi’s two grassroots partners -New Garden Junior Youth Empowerment and Development Center from Zezhou County, Jincheng, Shanxi, and Suolu Junior Youth Training School of Gucheng District, Lijang, Yunnan-were invited to share their experiences in the field. How to initiate a CBO, how to collaborate with local schools and communities, and how to follow the learning mode to constantly reflect and then optimize the actions were among the popular topics during the sharing.

 

On the last day, the eight potential initiators shared their thoughts on the 5-day training. “Together with like-minded people, setting up a local CBO to serve as a platform for junior youths to contribute to the balanced development of the community through learning and service, is something that I feel more and more enthusiastic about.”, one participant shared.

 

In the following two weeks, they will return to their hometowns and read their local communities, to identify possible social space needed to implement the METL program.

Comments are closed.

巴迪基金会“道德赋能与英语教育项目”2017年基层社区组织潜在启动者培训在京圆满完成

2017年4月3-7日,来自广西、云南、新疆、山西、陕西五省的八位基层社区组织潜在启动者与巴迪基金会的同事们齐聚北京,以参与式的小组学习形式,共同探讨怎样推进社会物质与精神的平衡发展。这八位潜在启动者是由巴迪基金会的同事在过去几个月中通过广泛分享、持续对话而识别出的,他们具有服务家乡的意愿,热心为推动家乡的平衡发展贡献力量。在接下来的三个月内,巴迪基金会将在其中识别出部分启动者,支持其在当地社区成立基层社区组织。

实习培训照片

五天的研讨会,大家先从世界范围内二战后的发展思想沿革开始,探讨发展领域的相关思想和实践。在总结前人几十年经验的基础上,大家学习到当地人的参与、基层组织、社区推动者在发展项目中的重要性。在这样的大背景下,以12-15岁青少年为目标人群的“道德赋能与英语教育项目”被引入,项目旨在以学习和服务齐头并进的方式,培养青少年的双重目的意识——在个人发展的同时推进所在社区的平衡发展。除了介绍项目目标、元素外,这次的研讨会还邀请到巴迪基金会的两个基层合作伙伴——山西省晋城市泽州县新园青少年赋能发展中心和云南省丽江市古城区索路青少年培训学校——的负责人现身说法。她们用自己的真实案例与实习生们分享了创建基层机构、与学校和社区合作开展项目的过程,以及在这个过程中的不断反思进步。

在最后的总结分享环节,实习生们分享了自己五天来的感受,“‘与志同道合者一起,用基层机构搭建一个平台,与青少年们一起,在学习和服务中为推动社区的发展贡献出自己的力量,创造更美好和谐的生活。’是这些天培训后心中最明确、最坚定的目标。”

接下来的两周,八位潜在启动者将会回到自己的家乡开展社区调研,识别在家乡做项目的社会空间。

Comments are closed.