Badi Foundation Shares Experiences with Poverty Alleviation in China at Asia Society’s Hong Kong Center

On March 12th, 2016, Badi Foundation’s Chief Representative Ms. Shareen Farhad was invited by Asia Society Hong Kong Center to discuss NGOs’ participation in China’s poverty alleviation process. The speech was part of the Jack Tang Memorial Lecture Series, which centered around “Eliminating Poverty in Rural China: Wishful Thinking or Achievable Goal?”.

5-2

5-1

5-4

 

Ms. Farhad stressed the importance of capacity building to the process of poverty alleviation. Since 2005, Badi Foundation has prioritized its institutional capacity building program. For the past ten years, Badi has identified, trained, and supported 41 service-oriented individuals from 13 provinces to initiate community-based organizations (CBOs) focusing on empowering rural women or youths. These organizations have been working closely with local populations to advance their communities culturally, materially and socially. Some examples of local initiatives arising from the capacity building process have begun to emerge. Women from the Na Xi ethnic minority in Lijiang, Yunnan benefited from developing a konjak (a special kind of economic crop) plantation through collective consultation and exploration. Women from the Zhuang ethnic minority in Debao, Guangxi started to actively identify the needs of their communities and solve them together after participating in capacity building training. Women in Dingbian, Shaanxi established an embroidery cooperative to develop the local economy while preserving the traditional embroidery culture. Badi Foundation, as one of the NGOs participating in China’s alleviation, explores possibilities through a process of learning and shares experiences arising from the grass roots with policy-makers.

 

Asia Society’s Hong Kong Center offered a platform for guest speakers, who were scholars or experts from the field of poverty alleviation to share their views with the general public. Around 100 people attended the event.

Comments are closed.

巴迪基金会北京代表处首席代表安小雨女士在亚洲协会香港中心就非营利组织参与中国减贫发表公开演讲

2016年3月13日,巴迪基金会北京代表处首席代表(安小雨女士)受邀在亚洲协会香港分布就非盈利组织参与中国减贫工作发表公开演讲。本次演讲是亚洲协会Jack Tang 纪念系列演讲的其中之一,本次的演讲主题是《中国农村减贫-美好的愿望还是可达的目标?》。演讲嘉宾除安小雨女士外,也有来自于乐施会香港总干事廖洪波先生, 西南大学中国乡村建设学院执行副院长张兰英教授以及香港中文大学新闻与传播学院高级讲师兼社会与科学学院副院长陈婉雯。

5-2

5-1

5-4

在安小雨女士的演讲中,就巴迪基金会在过去20多年在中国13个省开展的针对农村社区不同人群和机构的能力建设项目做了经验分享,减贫工作是目前中国国家发展的重要战略和目标之一,作为非营利组织如何在中国社会经济环境中就减少农村贫困发挥作用,安小雨的演讲中强调了能力建设的重要性,根据巴迪基金会在中国农村社区的减贫探索,自2005年起基金会做了战略调整,将机构能力建设作为减贫和发展的核心策略,在过去10年,基金会在中国13个省识别了41个居住在基层社区的个人,通过一系列的能力建设项目项目和种子基金的支持,使他们逐步发展为致力于推动各自社区物质和平衡发展的基层社区组织与当地人持续探索真发展之路,目前有267个组织继续合作。在这一学习进程中初步产生了一些经验和成效,在云南丽江的纳西社区农村妇女通过能力建设项目开始集体磋商并决策最终通过种植经济作物促进了家庭收入的提升,在广西德保的壮族社区妇女通过参与能力建设项目识别社区需求并主动解决公共问题,在陕西定边妇女们通过组织刺绣合作社来促进经济增长并发展当地的传统手工艺术。非营利组织在减贫工作中应用灵活和创新的学习模式以期对减贫工作有一定的促进作用并能总结经验供政策制定者参考。

 本次的演讲嘉宾都是在中国减贫领域有着丰富领域的学者以及实践者,通过亚洲协会这一平台分享并探索中国农村减贫的经验和知识。大约有100多名观众参与了本次演讲活动。

Comments are closed.