Community-Based Organizations Running Moral Empowerment Through Language Program in Southern China Hold Seminar in Lijiang, Yunnan

February 19th to 22nd, 2017, six community-based organizations (CBO) that cooperate with the Badi Foundation to implement Moral Empowerment Through Language Program (METL) in southern China gathered in Lijiang, Yunnan to hold their second regional seminar since the initiation of this regional group. The local CBO Suolu Junior Youth Training School was the main organizer for the seminar, while 5 other CBOs contributed actively.

Before the seminar, CBOs consulted collectively in the WeChat group about the possible themes and what they wanted to learn in the seminar. After summarizing all the ideas and thoughts, Suolu drafted the agenda, with the help of a Badi staff who accompanied this group.

 

After the agenda was approved of by all the participating CBOs, a consultation on how to facilitate each session was initiated. Previously when faced with questions from one CBO, the other CBOs would directly share their experiences. However, problems arose when that CBO imitated whatever the other CBOs were doing without considering its own specific situations. Thus it was decided that instead of offering direct answers, facilitators would study with the CBOs some materials covering the relevant elements and concepts, inspiring the CBOs to formulate solutions specific to their own challenges. This method of facilitation proved to be effective as the participants were empowered during the process. It’s also worth noting that CBOs’ facilitation skills improved and bonding between the CBOs grew stronger.

It is hoped that regional seminars can truly become a platform for CBOs to share their experiences and learn from each other. We can already observe this trend becoming increasingly clear.

Comments are closed.

南方道德赋能与英语教育项目区域研讨会成功在云南丽江举办

2017年2月19日-22日,南方道德赋能与英语教育项目区域研讨会在云南省丽江市古城区成功举办。此次研讨会是南方道德赋能与英语教育项目区域小组自成立以来的第二次研讨会,由古城区索路青少年培训学校主办,来自云南省和广东省的共计6个基层社区组织参与其中并积极协助。

研讨会前期,机构们通过微信群对研讨会主题进行磋商,大家你一言我一语地表达了自己的想法,内容涵盖项目开展的各个元素。巴迪基金会的陪伴人员协助索路机构对这些主题进行了整合汇总,最终形成本次研讨会的议程。

确定好议程后,巴迪陪伴人员与相关主题的协助者共同磋商如何协助。与其针对具体问题提供其他机构解决的方法和经验,大家认为培养机构自身进行系统化反思的能力更为重要,所以提倡在协助过程中从相关概念本身入手,借助学习材料从反思自身的角度来启发机构寻找解决问题的可能途径。从研讨会现场的反馈来看,机构们对这样的协助思路都觉得受益匪浅。另外,值得一提的是,机构协助课程的能力在不断进步。从第一次研讨会时大家对于协助的毫无头绪,到在磋商中主动提出想法建议,再到这次研讨会中的积极协助,区域小组的力量逐渐显现出来,大家参与的主动性也在提高。

我们期待,区域小组能够真正成为支持机构发展的平台,每一个机构都能在区域小组中获得启发,并将这些经验灵活地运用在未来的行动中,以更好地推动当地社区的平衡发展。

 

Comments are closed.