Community-Based Organizations Running Moral Empowerment Through Language Program in Northern China Hold Seminar in Dalian

During January 16th to 20th, 2017, five community-based organizations (CBOs) that cooperate with the Badi Foundation to implement Moral Empowerment Through Language (METL) in Northern China gathered in Dalian to hold their regional seminar. This is the fifth regional seminar for this group since the “regional group” strategy was introduced in 2014.

北方道德赋能与英语教育项目区域研讨会

The five CBOs consulted about the themes of the seminar and prepared the studying materials together. Since CBOs implemented the METL program mostly through cooperating with local schools or setting up junior youth groups in their communities, they discussed common themes such as how to establish lasting and stable relations with schools and communities, how to raise up local facilitators, how to create a free yet efficient class, how to systematically deepen the service projects and so on.

The most exciting session of the seminar was “how to create a free yet efficient class”. Participants from each CBO chose one chapter from Glimmerings of Hope respectively and demonstrated their way of teaching it. The diversity of teaching methods inspired participants, to improve their own teaching.

北方道德赋能与英语教育项目区域研讨会-1

Apart from discussing specific lines of action to carry out the program, CBOs also looked at the program from a wider perspective – the importance of empowering junior youths to contribute to the balanced development of their communities. It is the goal for the Badi Foundation as well as all the CBOs implementing the METL program. It was hoped that through experience generation and sharing within the regional groups, new knowledge can accumulate and be shared with the wider public.  

CBOs built up their capacity through organizing and implementing the regional seminar. The mutual experience sharing offered them opportunities to look at the program from different angles and thus make further improvement. We were also happy to see the increasing frequency of support and accompaniment that CBOs gave each other.

Comments are closed.

北方道德赋能与英语教育项目区域研讨会成功在大连举行

2017年1月16-20日,与巴迪基金会合作的5个基层机构共同举办的北方道德赋能与英语教育项目区域研讨会在大连成功举行。这是此区域小组内的合作机构们自己组织的第五次研讨会。

北方道德赋能与英语教育项目区域研讨会

每次研讨会,所有参与机构都会一起磋商设置会议主题,组织学习材料,具体责任分工。由于机构们主要通过与当地学校或社区合作来开展项目,组织青少年学习教材,以及启发青少年开始探索并组织服务活动来促进社区内的协调发展,所以在本次研讨会上,大家重点探讨了“如何持续且稳定地与学校或社区合作来开展项目”“如何培养社区内部的激励者”“如何上好项目课程”“如何使服务活动持续化且复杂化”等主题。

本次研讨会给大家启发最大的是“如何上好项目课程”环节,每个研讨会参加者都选择了项目教材《希望之光》的一个章节,然后以“说课”的形式现场演示跟青少年们学习教材的过程。通过不同的课程演示,大家学习和感受到了多样的授课方式给青少年带来的启发和触动。

北方道德赋能与英语教育项目区域研讨会-1

另外,在具体讨论项目执行情况的同时,机构们也从宏观的层面探讨了提升青少年的能力来推动当地社区平衡发展的重要性。这是一个永恒的话题,也是所有合作伙伴们与巴迪基金会一起努力探索的方向。希望未来通过区域小组内合作伙伴们的经验总结和交流分享,在这个话题方面产生更多的实操经验。

通过筹办区域研讨会,机构们的能力都得到了提升。研讨会上的主题探讨和经验分享,也让大家学习到每个机构在开展项目方面的独特经验。我们也期待研讨会之后大家将学习到的经验灵活地运用在推动各自机构发展的工作中,也欣喜地看到通过区域小组研讨会,机构与机构之间有了更多的支持和陪伴。

Comments are closed.